Southwest Airlines intends to acquire AirTran

Landing, Las Vegas.
Image via Wikipedia

Wow… Perhaps I haven’t followed current events in aviation for a while but Southwest’s announcement that they are buying AirTran really took me by surprise!

Airline acquisitions are always interesting to watch. Mismatched fleets and interim color schemes, out-of-whack flight numbers and airline designators, airport signage quickly covered, labour troubles, seniority pet peeves, clash of the corporate cultures… To me, that’s what mergers sometimes sound like, from my memories of previous mergers, such as Air Canada and Canadian, Canada 3000, CanJet and Royal. I wonder if Southwest and AirTran’s merger will be different.

Stay tuned and give me your impressions too!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.